Quick Answer: What Airlines Let You Fly Alone At 14?

Can a 14 year old fly alone on Alaska Airlines?

Junior Jetsetter unaccompanied minor service is optional for young adults, ages 13 through 17 years old, traveling without a parent, legal guardian, or other adult at least 18 years of age..

Can a 14 year old travel alone on Southwest Airlines?

Southwest considers children ages 12 through 17 traveling alone to be Young Travelers, not Unaccompanied Minors. Accordingly, Southwest’s Unaccompanied Minor procedures do not apply to ages 12 through 17. … Southwest Airlines does not transport pets to or from Hawaii.

What does a 13 year old need to fly?

When flying domestically within the U.S., children typically do not need to show ID. Flying within the United States when accompanied by an adult. The TSA and most airlines do not require children under age 18 to provide ID when traveling with an adult companion who has acceptable identification.

Can a 13 year old fly alone?

How old does a child have to be to fly alone? Most airlines allow children to travel alone using an unaccompanied minor service from 5 years. Depending on the airline, minors may travel without assistance from 12, 14, 16, or 18 years.

Do minors need real ID flying?

TSA does not currently require children under 18 to provide identification when traveling with a companion within the U.S. So as long as you have your documents in order, kids will not need a REAL ID.

What documents does a teenager need to fly?

Children ages 15-17 traveling alone need one of the following:Driver’s license.Passport.Credit card.School ID.Company ID.Library card.Birth certificate.Social Security card.More items…

What identification do minors need to fly?

IDs. Minors, unlike adults, are not required by law to show a U.S. federal- or state-issued photo ID for domestic flights, but will need to show a valid passport for international flights; this includes infants.

Can I fly alone at 15?

Children younger than 5 can’t travel as unaccompanied minors, even if they’re flying with an older unaccompanied child. Young adults ages 15-17 can travel alone on any United- or United Express®-operated flight, or they can choose to opt in to our unaccompanied minor service.

How do I book a flight for a minor?

You won’t be able to book a flight for an unaccompanied minor through a discount airline website. The airlines typically require you to contact them directly or book through a travel agent. Read the policy for unaccompanied minors for the airline you plan to use.

Can you fly alone at 14?

How Old Do Kids Have to Be to Fly Alone? Airlines generally consider children between the ages of 5 and 14 who travel without a parent or guardian to be “unaccompanied minors.” For kids between 15 and 17, unaccompanied minor service is typically optional.

What does a minor need to travel without parents?

This includes children of any age. When flying within the U.S., or traveling internationally by land or sea, a child’s birth certificate will suffice most of the time. A notarized letter of consent will be required for children who travel without one or both of their parents or legal guardians.

What airline can you fly alone at 14?

United Airlines Children 5 to 14 are considered unaccompanied minors unless they have a parent or guardian 18 or older on the same flight. Unaccompanied minor service is not available for children ages 15 and older.

Can a 13 year old fly alone on Delta?

Children ages 15-17 are permitted to travel as a standard passenger, Go to footer note, provided they can present a valid ID to security personnel. If parents or guardians prefer, they can also travel as an unaccompanied minor.

Can I use my school ID to fly?

School ID or Library Card — While travelers under the age of 18 aren’t required to provide valid identification at TSA checkpoints, a school ID can be a suitable alternative for adult passengers. These cards generally come with a students’ photo, and in some cases their date of birth or address.

Which airline has the lowest unaccompanied minor fee?

AlaskaAlaska has the cheapest unaccompanied-minor fees, charging $25 each way for nonstop or direct flights and $50 for connecting flights. Southwest charges $50 each way; Frontier, JetBlue and Spirit charge $100 each way; and American, Delta, United and US Airways charge $150 each way.

Does a 14 year old need an ID to fly alone?

If your child is traveling alone, they may be required to bring a photo ID, depending on the airline. For example, United states that children aged 5-14 don’t have to show ID, but that’s not the case with older minors. If your child is between 15 and 17 years old, they need ID to fly with United.

What do 14 year olds need to fly?

Children ages 15-17 may be required to provide some sort of identification including one of the following:Driver’s license.Learners permit.Passport.Passport card.Credit card.School ID.Company ID.Library card.More items…

Can a 14 year old fly alone on American Airlines?

Children traveling alone For safety, we require children age 5 – 14 traveling alone to use our unaccompanied minor service. For children age 15 – 17, this service is optional.

Does a 13 year old need a birth certificate to fly?

A: Kids 18 and younger do not need an IDs to fly domestically. … You may have to provide a birth certificate or passport, however, to confirm your child’s age to an airline.

Can you use birth certificate to fly?

A school ID, library card, Social Security card, birth certificate or an organization ID all suffice, as do the allowed identification forms for an adult, such as a state ID. Children younger than 14 do not require identification when traveling alone.

Is a copy of birth certificate OK for flying?

While a birth certificate is not always required for travel, it is a good idea to carry a copy of your child’s birth certificate with you. You can use it, if needed, to prove your older teen’s age – some teens look older than they are and might be asked for identification.